Graduation Requirements | AAS in Radiography Program

Graduation Requirements

Requirements for graduation in the Associate of Applied Science in Radiography program include:

  • Fulfill the course requirements of the Associate of Applied Science in Radiography curriculum
  • Complete the last 27 semester hours in Radiography at the College
  • Earn a minimum of 77 hours of credit attaining a "C" (2.0) average which includes a "C" or above in each required radiography and general education course
  • Meet all financial obligations incurred with the College
  • Be recommended by faculty and approved for graduation by the College Governing Board
  • No degree will be awarded until all requirements are met.


Upon completion, an eligible graduate who has successfully demonstrated competency in both clinical and didactic phases of the accredited program earns the opportunity to write the National Certifying Examination in Radiography, which is administered by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT). Candidates are allowed three attempts within a three-year period of time to successfully complete this exam. Application for examination must be made within three years of program completion. All candidates must comply with the eligibility Rules of Ethics as defined by the ARRT.

Once registered, the graduate is qualified for employment as a Registered Technologist in Radiography (R.T.R.). The RT(R) must acquire 24 hours of continuing education credits every two years to maintain ARRT certification and CQR testing every 10 years.

In addition to the ARRT requirements for continuing education, approximately two thirds of the states have licensing laws covering the practice of radiologic technology. Administration of licensing laws differs from state to state. The Illinois Emergency Management (IEMA) Division of Nuclear Safety enforces the Radiation Protection Act of 1987. This Act states Radiologic Technologists who "practice the science and art of applying x-radiation to human beings for diagnostic purposes" must be accredited (ARRT) and maintain one hour of continuing education for every month since the issuance of the last accreditation. Please reference the IEMA address below or the ASRT web page for more information concerning state licensure.

Illinois Emergency Management Agency
Division of Nuclear Safety
2200 South Dirksen Parkway
Springfield Illinois 62703
Telephone: (217) 785-9913

The student/graduate is eligible for membership in the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) and affiliate State Societies of Radiologic Technologists.